Sightseenig

Sightseenig

Mount Lycabettus, also known as Lycabettos, Lykabettos or Lykavittos is a Cretaceous limestone hill in Athens, Greece at 300 meters (908 feet) above sea level. Pine trees cover its base, and at its two peaks are the 19th century Chapel of St. George, a theatre, and a restaurant.

The name also refers to the residential neighbourhood immediately below the east of the hill.

The hill is a tourist destination and can be ascended by the Lycabettus Funicular, a funicular railway which climbs the hill from a lower terminus at Kolonaki (The railway station can be found at Aristippou street). Lycabettus appears in various legends. Popular stories suggest it was once the refuge of wolves, (lycos in Greek), which is possibly the origin of its name (means "the one [the hill] that is walked by wolves"). Another etymology suggests a Pelasgian, pre-Mycenean, origin (Lucabetu=mastoid hill).

Mythologically, Lycabettus is credited to Athena, who created it when she dropped a limestone mountain she had been carrying from the Pallene peninsula for the construction of the Acropolis after the box holding Erichthonius was opened.

 

Chapel of St. George

Perched on top of Lykavittos sits the whitewashed chapel, a landmark building that is visible from afar. The Orthodox chapel, dedicated to St. George, was built here in the 19th century and replaced an older Byzantine church dedicated to the Prophet Elijah.

The Chapel is under the Metropolis of Piraeus. Travelers such as Laborde in 1672 mention there was a church here at that time. When this church fell to ruin a new church was built over it, a basilica, dedicated to St. George. This was established by Metropolitan Benedict (1782-1785), according to an inscription on the floor. This church was extended with two additional chapels, dedicated to Prophet Elijah and St. Constantine.

Because the hill is difficult to climb, these structures were abandoned and fell into disrepair. In 1834, however, a monk named Emmanuel Louloudakis scaled Lykavittos, cleared the ruins and rebuilt the chapel of Prophet Elijah and dedicated it to St. George. When Monk Emmanuel didn't return from his climb, those who knew him assumd he died during the climb. Three years later some Athenians saw lights on top of the hill, and climbing up to discover their origin, they found the monk had made a small paradise with a garden and patio. Locals gave money for a road to be built, and the chapel began to be visited, especially on Pascha which is about the time St. George is celebrated. Fr. Emmanuel reposed in 1885 and his grave is near the chapel he built. Some miracles have occurred in the Chapel of St. George.

Today the hill is primarily a tourist destination to get a beautiful view of the city, and there is a restaurant for a dining experience with an exceptional view.

 

Lycabettus Funicular

The Lycabettus Funicular is a funicular railway to the top of Mount Lycabettus in the Greek capital city of Athens. It was constructed in the 1960s by the Greek Tourist Organisation (EOT) and was inaugurated on April 18, 1965. The terminal stations are situated at Aristippou street, in Kolonaki, and the Chapel of St. George, near the top of the hill. Between the terminal stations, the line is entirely in tunnel.

In 2002 extensive refurbishment was carried out, involving replacement of the motor, of the hydraulic brake unit, of the electronics safety systems, of the control room and of the two cars of the funicular. The railway now runs daily services, with a capacity of about 400 persons per hour.

Date

26 January 2018

Tags

Λυκαβηττός, Sportevent, Αγώνας Δρόμου

lycabettus run 2019

After the success of the “4rd Lycabettus Run” which established the institution, this year we celebrate the 5th Anniversary Lycabettus Run which is expected to be even more successful and exciting since there will be even more surprising features.

Newsletter

Here you will find

Επικοινωνια

Address:
Κλεομένους 2, Αθήνα

Phone:

Email:
info@lycabettusrun.gr